top of page

Announcing our new


Executive Director


Rachel Ferris

Rachel Ferris comes to the organization with 25 years' experience in the classical music field, as a performer, teacher, and concert organizer. Originally from upstate New York, she is a longtime resident of San Antonio, having moved here to fulfill her role as Principal Harpist of the San Antonio Symphony, and now the San Antonio Philharmonic. She has long-standing ties to the Olmos Ensemble's core members, and the community. Throughout her career, Rachel has been an active chamber musician, enjoying Olmos performances as both a guest artist and audience member. Over the years, she has witnessed the evolution of the ensemble, and believes it to be a true cultural gem of our city.  She looks forward to strengthening ties to the community, and aims to bring the talents of the Olmos artists to ever-expanding audiences.Rachel is thrilled to be joining the Olmos Ensemble at this exciting point in its history, and will officially start on July 1, 2023.

Ferris headshot.jpeg

About us:


Since its founding in 1994, Olmos Ensemble has established itself as one of the premier chamber music organizations in Texas and is increasingly gaining national recognition through its world class performances, live broadcasts and recordings. Comprised of the Principal Winds and Concertmaster of the San Antonio Symphony and supplemented by leading musicians from across the United States, Olmos Ensemble’s programming has won plaudits for its innovative programming, showcasing neglected works by female composers, forgotten Baroque gems and challenging contemporary pieces along side insightful interpretations of standard chamber repertoire from the 18th, 19th and 20th centuries.


In addition to an annual Summer Concert Series in August and Regular Concert Series throughout the year, Olmos Ensemble performs outreach concerts in local communities and is regularly featured in broadcast performances on Texas Public Radio and American Public Media’s Performance Today. Olmos Ensemble collaborators include internationally acclaimed artists such as Vadim Gluzman, Jon Kimura Parker, William Hagen, Timothy Jones, Jeffrey Sykes, Evan Kory, Warren Jones and John Novacek.


Olmos Ensemble honors the tradition of chamber music in South Texas, shares its artistry with audiences across the region and celebrates excellence in music through exciting and inspiring performances.

bottom of page